Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Defining Documents in American History - Court Cases by
Publication Date: 2017-11-06
This book covers important historical documents from the U.S. Supreme Court as well as other courts in American history. It provides in-depth analysis of a broad range of court cases covering critical topics, including Marbury v. Madison, Roe v. Wade, Plessy v. Ferguson, Bush v. Gore, and Muller v. Oregon.
Legal Issues Across the Globe, Vol. 1 by
Publication Date: 2018
Provides worldwide coverage of important legal topics of the day. Each chapter begins with an overview by a legal scholar, providing a framework for understanding the issue. Each overview is then followed by twelve essays on different countries around the world. The essays discuss laws in those countries, as well as the historical and cultural contexts in which those laws came about.
Modern Genocide by
Publication Date: 2015
Provides students with a close examination of 10 modern genocides enhanced by documents and introductions that provide additional historical and contemporary context for learning about and understanding these tragic events. 4 volumes.
The Rise of Communism by
Publication Date: 2018-02-16
This book surveys the history of the global rise of Communism, from the earliest phases of the "Utopian Socialist" movement and the beginnings of Marxist theory to the collapse of the Soviet system and the Cold War. It begins with a timeline and narrative overview, which are followed by reference entries, primary source documents, and original argumentative essays on enduring issues related to Communism.
Polling America: an Encyclopedia of Public Opinion, 2nd Edition [2 Volumes] by
Publication Date: 2020-08-04
This revised encyclopedia discusses all aspects of public opinion polling in the United States, including major and emerging theories and concepts; historical and current methodologies; political, journalistic, and corporate uses; landmark events and the history of polling; and influential people and organizations. It also illuminates how public opinion polling has shaped the trajectory of American society and Americans’ views about themselves and their fellow citizens.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2004
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide. 13 volumes.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, 13th Ed. by
Publication Date: 2012
Presents easy-to-understand information on 194 countries and dependencies from around the world. Entries discuss a variety of topics in detail, from banking and securities to climate, from government data to demographic statistics. Also includes biographical essays on national leaders.
Legal & Political Science Reference Resources
Curriculum Materials Center Librarian
, Communication Studies
, Film Studies
, Government Documents
, Graphic Arts
, Graphic Design
, Mass Communications
, Speech Communication