Skip to Main Content

SLP 601: Research Design in Speech-Language Pathology

Using RefWorks

Create RefWorks Account

Create your account at this link using your  first.last@go.mnstate.edu email address:

https://refworks.proquest.com/signup/institutionalSignup/

This is the login screen for RefWorks. After you create your account, save those login credentials. You will always see this screen first when using RefWorks, even when exporting citations from databases to RefWorks.

STUDENTS:

When students are registering for a Refworks account:

YES: first.last@go.mnstate.edu

NO: StarID@go.minnstate.edu

*Check for activation code in junk mail if not in inbox.

 

What is RefWorks?
RefWorks is a citation manager that can help you organize your research by storing citations for the articles you find. You can then use those citations to automatically generate your bibliography, formatted to whatever citation style you choose.

You can even sync your RefWorks account with Microsoft Word to drop in-text citations into your document. You can even include it as an add-in with your web browser to create citations from websites. RefWorks can be easy to use and very helpful, but takes a little bit of practice to be familiar with.

Four reasons to use RefWorks include the ability to:

  1. Gather, store, manage and share references or citations.
  2. Generate bibliographies in numerous citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.
  3. Store references online and have accessibility to them wherever internet access is available.
  4. Creates more accurate citations. (RefWorks can be used to replace other citation machine sites such as Citation Machine, BibMe, and EasyBib). 

Adding References

There are several ways to add references into Refworks.

Begin in the Main Navigation and click on +Add:

Upload a Document – these are documents from your own computer files. Example: PDF, PPT, Word Doc. They can also be uploaded with drag and drop anywhere on the All Documents page or Import a Reference page.

Import a Reference – allows you to import reference files from other reference managers, from legacy RefWorks and from other sources.

Create New Reference – Search for a title or DOI, review the results and save the ones you choose, or manually add all reference meta data. When selecting Create new reference a new pane will appear on the right.

You can search for a reference or create it yourself.

  1. Enter a title, or as much of the title as you can.
  2. When available, click on the lightning icon button title_locate.png in the Title field to have RefWorks match the title with an item in the library. This button is also available after you enter a value in the DOI field, which appears for most reference types.
  3. RefWorks displays possible suggestions at the bottom of the pane. If you select one, RefWorks completes the title and fills the fields with information from the library. You can later review or edit fields.
  4. To keep the reference, click on Save. The reference will be added to your Last Imported Folder.
  5. If no match is found, you can create the reference by typing in the metadata yourself and clicking on Save.

You can save references or articles, including full text (if available) from any website into RefWorks using the Save.

You can also add references by searching in linked library catalogs and publicly available databases. Search results can be imported into your account with the click of a button.

When you are doing your searching in any of the library's databases there will be an option to export the citation to RefWorks. A couple of examples would be:

 A successful import will generate a message similar to the following:

User-added image

To export references, navigate to the page or folder of the references you would like to export. Click on Share in the Main Navigation, then Export references. Select the relevant options and click on Export.

RefWorks Advanced User Guide

 

What is RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based research management tool designed to help you gather, organize, store, annotate, and share all types of resources used in your research, assignments, or dissertation.

RefWorks is MSUM Library's preferred research management tool since comprehensive support is provided. It is also FREE for all NCU students, faculty, staff, and alumni. 

​With RefWorks, you can do the following:

  • Organize your resources by project, in folders, or with tags
  • Create APA formatted reference lists and annotated bibliographies
  • Import citations directly and indirectly from Library databases as well as research websites like Google Scholar or PubMed
  • Access your sources directly within Microsoft Word
  • Share citations and source lists

NOTE: When using RefWorks, you must always check your content and citations for accuracy and proper formatting.

With RefWorks, you are creating your own personal database of resources, and how you organize those resources is up to you. 

There are three (3) ways to organize and manage your content in RefWorks:

  • Projects
  • Folders
  • Tags

Managing Projects 

You can create projects in RefWorks. Projects allow you to maintain separate reference and resource collections for different research assignments.

To manage projects:
  1. Select the arrow next to your project in the header and select Manage Projects.

manage_projects.png

 

The My projects page appears:My Projects screen in RefWorks

Create a New Project

To create a new project, select Create a New Project. The following appears:

create_a_new_project.png
Enter a name for the project and select Save. The project is added to the list of projects. You can navigate between projects from the Project Menu at the top of the page. To rename or delete a project select Actions > Rename or Actions > Delete.
 
 

 

Setting your Citation Style to APA 7th 

As a RefWorks user, you can set your profile to reflect resources and create bibliographies using the APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org/ 

NOTE: There are citation style variations of APA 7th available to choose from in RefWorks so please select and apply the following version: APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org/

To set and update your citation style, select the All References tab on the left menu, and change the View display on your RefWorks dashboard to Citation View. Click on the settings gear Settings Gear in RefWorks. Search for and select the APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org/ and click Save.

RefWorks Citation View

You may also set your citation style under Create Bibliography to create a list of references in the APA 7th - Sentence Casing, DOI: https://doi.org/ style.

Create bibliography in RefWorks

If you are using the Write-N-Cite plugin or RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Microsoft Word, you can also select your citation style output:

  • Write-N-Cite: To set your citation style output in Write-N-Cite, select the Style dropdown in your RefWorks tab in the Microsoft Word ribbon and choose the appropriate style.

         Setting your citation style output through the Style section in Write-N-Cite in Microsoft Word

 

  • RefWorks Citation Manager: In RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM), set your citation style output by clicking on the three lines in the top left corner to access the Menu. Click on Citation Style. Search for the appropriate citation style output and click Update.        

          RefWorks Citation Manager Menu   RefWorks Citation Manager choose citation style output   RefWorks Citation Manager change citation style   Click update to change citation style output in RefWorks Citation Manager

You can easily create a Reference page (called Bibliography in RefWorks) from the All Documents area, any collection or your search results list.

Navigate to the collection you want to use (or All Documents area or run a search and select items) and click the Create bibliography icon . 

You can choose to create a bibliography for selected references or for all of the reference in the collection (or in All Documents if that's the view you are in).

RefWorks screenshot showing the Create bibliography link.

 

 

Overview

You can create citations in RefWorks to copy to your document, or more conveniently, you can add them while working in your document using a RefWorks add-on. In addition, the add-ons enable you to manage the citations in the: delete, add, restyle, and so forth.

Save to RefWorks is a browser bookmarklet that enables you to add references to your RefWorks account directly from your browser.

See the sections on this page for information about the bookmarklet and about the add-on relevant for your environment.

Save to RefWorks

Save to RefWorks is a bookmarklet that you can install in your browser's favorites (bookmarks) bar. When you are browsing a website that has references that you would like to add to your RefWorks account, select the bookmarklet. RefWorks attempts to save the references and full texts.

Save to RefWorks should work on any modern browser.

Installing Save to RefWorks

To install Save to RefWorks:

  1. Ensure that your browser's favorites toolbar is currently visible in your browser.
  2. In RefWorks, select Tools > Tools. The Tools page appears.
  3. Select Install Save to RefWorks. A dialog box appears.
  4. Drag and drop the Save to RefWorks add-on to your browser's favorites toolbar. The add-on is installed.
  5. Click anywhere on the page to close the dialog box.

If you experience any problems, see Contact RefWorks Support.

Adding References Using Save to RefWorks

To add a reference or a list of references from a website to RefWorks:

  1. Ensure that you are logged into RefWorks.
  2. While browsing any website, when viewing a page containing a reference, or information about a reference, select Save to RefWorks from your browser's favorites toolbar. Save to RefWorks opens a right sidebar.

    save_to_refworks_pane.png

    Save to RefWorks Right Sidebar

    • If Save to RefWorks detects a single reference on the page, Save to RefWorks prefills as many fields as it can. Enter or correct information as required and select Save to RefWorks. The reference is added to your RefWorks account.
    • If Save to RefWorks detects multiple references, a list of references appears in the right sidebar. Select the relevant references and select Save to RefWorks. You can edit each one by first opening the reference (select > in the reference row).
  3. You can then choose to assign the reference/s to a folder/s and whether to import tags or not.
    import tags.png
  4. If you have multiple projects, select the project to which you want to save the reference and click Continue.

Overview

You can create citations in RefWorks to copy to your document, or more conveniently, you can add them while working in your document using a RefWorks add-on. In addition, the add-ons enable you to manage the citations in the: delete, add, restyle, and so forth.

RefWorks Add-on

To install RefWorks Add-Ons

  1. Under your account, select Tools
  2. Select the version you'd like to install: Word, Google Docs, or Hangul
  3. Follow the links and installation directions in your selected program
  4. For help using the Add-On, see instructions here: https://knowledge.exlibrisgroup.com/RefWorks/Product_Documentation/RefWorks_User_Guide/0500_RefWorks_Add-ons%3A_Connecting_Your_Browser%2C_Microsoft_Word%2C_and_Google_Docs_to_RefWorks/002_RefWorks_Citation_Manager