ENGL 340 - Rowse - Dystopian - Alternate History Assignment: Finding Historical Context

Ebook that includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles, and individuals important to particular eras in U.S. history. 8 volumes.

Volume 1: Early American Civilizations and Exploration to 1600
Volume 2: The Colonial Era, 1600-1754
Volume 3: The Revolutionary Era, 1754-1783
Volume 4: Development of a Nation, 1783-1815
Volume 5: The Reform Era and Eastern U.S. Development, 1815-1850
Volume 6: Westward Expansion, 1800-1860
Volume 7: Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877
Volume 8: Development of the Industrial United States, 1878-1899

A three-volume survey of more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others. For students, researchers, and general readers.

This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.

Covers the history of Native Americans, ranging from human origins to present-day controversies. 4 volumes.

Documents African American culture and political activism from the slavery era through the 20th century. 3 volumes.

This book provides a variety of original source documents, from first-hand accounts to media responses to legislative texts, regarding the Chicano movement of the 1960s through 1970s. It examines the key events, individuals, and developments of La Causa: Chicanos uniting to free themselves of liberation from exploitation, oppression, and racism.

Provides insight into major cultures from all continents including annotated primary documents introducing aspects of daily life throughout the world. Covers domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present. 3 volumes.

This work represents a leading reference resource for Asian American studies that provides up-to-date information about Asian ethnic groups, historical and contemporary events, important policies, and notable individuals. The entries devote attention to diverse Asian and Pacific Islander American groups as well as the roles of women, distinct socioeconomic classes, Asian American political and social movements, and race relations involving Asian Americans. 3 volumes.