Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web-Based Reference Resources
Literature and Its Times
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
World Literature and Its Times
Examines the relationship between the political/social climate during which books were written and the works themselves. The set covers Latin American, British, Irish, Spanish, Portuguese, Middle Eastern, Italian, and Classical Literature.
Literature Criticism Online
The largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format.
Literary Movements for Students
Entries provide in-depth historical background information on each movement as well as modern critical interpretation of each movement's characteristic styles and themes.
Daily Life through World History in Primary Documents
Provides insight into major cultures from all continents including annotated primary documents introducing aspects of daily life throughout the world. Covers domestic life, economics, intellectual life, material life, politics, religion, and recreation, from antiquity to the present.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and Footwear through the Ages
Provides a broad overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric times to the present day. Explores how and why items were created, the people who made them, and their uses. This encyclopedia shows how clothing, headwear, body decorations, and footwear reflect different cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
This encyclopedia captures the experiences of women throughout world history. It is comprised of both biographical entries and survey articles across a wealth of historical topics. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
People's Chronology, The
Presents a year-by-year record of human events from prehistory to the present. Each chronological chapter is further organized by era or year, and within each year by 33 standard subject categories that feature not only political events and wars, but also events in the arts and humanities, education, transportation, science and medicine, and social trends. Also includes issues of concern such as consumer protection, crime, and nutrition.
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.