Skip to main content

MUS 215 : Jazz History: Websites of Interest

International Jazz Collections
"The International Jazz Collections was formally established at the University of Idaho in 2000, featuring papers and photographs of the legendary Lionel Hampton. The IJC merged into the Special Collections & Archives of the UI Library in 2007, and is now the preeminent jazz archive in the Pacific Northwest."

Jazz Corner
"...the largest portal for the official websites of hundreds of jazz musicians and organizations...Features on JazzCorner.com include: the JazzCorner Jukebox where you can stream hundreds of free tunes from musicians that are part of JazzCorner.com. We are also a Google news aggregator."

JAZZ GUIDE: Online Resources For Everything Swingin’
Contains sections on general information and history, discographies, education and learning aids, jazz radio, and NJ-NYC festivals, venues, and organizations, and webzines.

Jazz Institute of Chicago
Founded in 1969, the Jazz Institute of Chicago promotes and nurtures jazz in Chicago. We do this by providing jazz education, developing and supporting musicians, building audiences and fostering a thriving jazz scene.

Jazz Roots
"An overview of early jazz from the 1800s to about 1930. It covers links to many early jazz musicians' sites; some images from the period; a short guide to the history of jazz; a bibliography, which links to an online bookshop; a timeline; fun facts, which includes definitions of the word jazz; and jazz quizzes." (from www.intute.ac.uk)

Jazz Studies Online
"We have selected a wide range of digital resources - journal articles, book chapters, magazines, teaching materials, talks, internet links, and performances - to represent the diversity and innovation in jazz studies. Some of the themes explored here are the impact of jazz on modern art, on cultural and social struggles, and on any field of human interaction that may involve improvisation."

The Journal of Music
The Journal of Music is an online music magazine based in Ireland and read worldwide. Founded by musician Toner Quinn in 2000, it began as a bimonthly print publication and subsequently won the Utne Independent Press Award for Arts Coverage in Washington DC. In 2010, the Journal moved fully online and now has over two hundred thousand readers worldwide. The magazine covers a wide range of genres, particularly classical, contemporary, traditional, folk, indie, opera, electronic, jazz, improvised, and alternative popular music.

Ken Burns' "Jazz"
Filmmaker Ken Burns tells the story of jazz — the quintessential American art form. The 10-part series follows the growth and development of jazz music from the gritty streets of New Orleans to the Lincoln Gardens on Chicago's south side, where Louis Armstrong first won fame, from Prohibition-era speakeasies to the wide-open clubs of Kansas City, from the elegant Roseland Ballroom in Times Square, where only whites were allowed to dance, to the more egalitarian Savoy Ballroom in Harlem, where people of all colors mingled.

Six years in the making, Jazz features 75 interviews, more than 500 pieces of music, 2,400 still photographs and more than 2,000 archival film clips — many rare and never before seen.

The DVDs are not in the LLLibrary, but may be obtained at Concordia College's library, here.

The 100 most important American musical works of the 20th century (NPR site)
Throughout the year 2000, NPR presented the stories behind 100 of the most important American musical works of the 20th century. These special features cover music from a wide variety of genres -- classical, jazz, rock'n'roll, country, R&B, musical theatre and film scores. NPR 100 stories aired on All Things Considered, Morning Edition, and NPR's weekend news magazine programs. You'll find on-demand audio of three NPR feature stories -- one from Morning Edition and two from All Things Considered -- on the NPR 100, plus the complete NPR 100 list arranged alphabetically with the air date and the original audio of each piece.

Outside shore music : a jazz improvisation primer
Covers all aspects of jazz improvisation, from jazz history, covering big band jazz, bebop, free jazz and fusion, to music theory, composition and practical advice on performance.

Smithsonian Jazz
Through world-class collections, scholarship, concerts, exhibitions and programs, Smithsonian Jazz at the National Museum of American History explores and celebrates the American experience through the transformative power of jazz. We believe that jazz is an important bridge between our nation's identity, our shared history, and our communities and we are committed to stewarding this connection for all audiences.
William P. Gottlieb photographs from the golden age of jazz
"...comprising over sixteen hundred photographs of celebrated jazz artists, documents the jazz scene from 1938 to 1948, primarily in New York City and Washington, D.C."