Skip to main content

MSUM Archives: Home

MSUM's Archives consists of two major collections:

University Archives

The University Archives, created in 1978 to preserve the important historical and administrative records of Minnesota State University Moorhead, is located on the fourth floor of the Livingston Lord Library. Collections cover a large variety of subjects including alumni, buildings and grounds, committees, departments, newspapers, organizations, past-president papers, policies, reports, sports, theatre and yearbooks.

Most material is open to all researchers although some material is restricted in accordance with the privacy laws of Minnesota. Most items are in paper format but other formats include electronic files on cds and dvds, photographs, slides, video tapes, cassette tapes, and artifacts. 

For more information see: https://www.mnstate.edu/university-archives/

Northwest Minnesota Historical Center 

The holdings of the Northwest Minnesota Historical Center, which was established in 1972, consist of correspondence, diaries, newspapers, business records, oral interviews, photographs, and other materials related to the history and culture of northwestern Minnesota. Collections cover a large variety of subjects including agriculture, early settlement, ethnicity, fine arts, floods, politics, railroads, and women's organizations.


The Center's Guide to the Northwest Minnesota Historical Center Collections has brief descriptions of each collection. Most collections are further described in individual inventories, which provide a brief historical background statement and a list of files in the collection. 

 

For more information see: https://www.mnstate.edu/northwest-mn/

 

Contact Archives

Phone: 218.477.2346
Location: LI 404
Address: 1104 7th Avenue South | Moorhead, MN 56563
Email: archives@mnstate.edu

Hours for Spring Semester 2018

9 am -11 am, Monday - Thursdays. Closed Fridays (excluding University holidays)

Contact the Center for afternoon hours.

In some cases the collections can be made available during evenings and weekends. Contact the Center for further details.

Librarian

Larry Schwartz's picture
Larry Schwartz
Contact:
Livingston Lord Library, Room 116
218-477-2353
Website

MSUM Archives Staff