Skip to main content

Subject Guide: Film Studies: Websites

This is the guide for Film Studies

Websites of interest

1,150 Free Movies Online: Great Classics, Indies, Noir, Westerns | Open Culture
20th Century Fox
American Cinema : 13 part documentary on the history of American cinema
American Film Institute
American Indian Film Institute
American Silent Feature Film Survival Database: The Survival of American Silent Feature Films, 1912-1929 (Performing Arts Encyclopedia, The Library of Congress)
Arab Film Distribution : Films, Videos, and DVDs from the Arab World, Middle East, and North Africa
Art on Film Online
BFI Screenonline : the definitive guide to Britain's film and tv history
Boxoffice Pro : Latest Box Office & Cinema News
Bright Lights Film Journal
British Board of Film Classification
British Council Film
British Film Institute
British Universities Film & Video Council
CineFiles : UCBerkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
Clipland: watch music videos, short films and tv commercials, with cast & crew credits
Cyber Film School Moviemaking Website
Documentary filmmakers' statement of best practices in fair use
Documentary Films .NET
DocuSeek
Domitor : early cinema journals
DVDBeaver : Eclectic Cinema and Digital Versatile Discs
Early African American Film : Reconstructing the History of Silent Race Films, 1909-1930
Empire: Film Reviews, Movie News and Interviews
European Film Gateway
Facets Features : Resident Video
Film Music Society
Filmsite
FilmSound.org : learning space dedicated to the Art of Film Sound Design & Film Sound Theory
Folkstreams : The Best of American Folklore Films
H-Film email list
Icarus Films
IMDb : Internet Movie Database
Independent Filmmakers Project
Jewish Film Archive Online
KINEMA Homepage (last published 2015)
Librarians in the Movies : An Annotated Filmography
Louise Brooks Society
Margaret Herrick Library : Periodicals, Books, and Pamphlets
metacritic: FILM
MGM Studios
Midnight Eye:  The latest and best in Japanese cinema (dormant since 2015)
MosFilm : YouTube
Moving Image Archive : Internet Archive
Moving Image Research Collections (University of South Carolina)
Moving Image Source Research Guide
Muzeo Nazionale del Cinema : The National Museum of Cinema (Italy)
National Film Board of Canada
National Film Preservation Board Public Research Centers and Archives
New Day Films: Independent Social Issue DVDs and Videos
Paramount Pictures
Radio history : a library of thousands of free PDF publications
Rotten Tomatoes
ScreenIt : movie reviews for parents
ScreenLex : a pronunciation guide for media studies
ScreenSite
Senses of Cinema film journal
Shooting People : Independent Filmmakers Network
Silent Era: The silent film website
SnagFilms
Sony Pictures Entertainment
Steven Spielberg Jewish Film Archive
Sundance Institute
Synoptique : an online journal of film and moving image studies
Telescope Film : Connecting American audiences with international movies
Thanhouser Company Film Preservation, Inc.
The Criterion Collection
The National Archives (UK) | Public Information Films
The Top Film Criticism Sites : An Annotated Blog Roll
Time Out London Film Reviews, Cinema Listings, Trailers & Features
Top 100 movies: defining the noughties, 00s, in film (The Telegraph, UK)
UbuWeb : Film & Video
UCLA Film & Television Archive
UCLA Film & Television Archive is renowned for its pioneering efforts to rescue, preserve and showcase moving image media, and is dedicated to ensuring that the collective visual memory of our time is explored and enjoyed for generations to come. Established in 1965, the Archive is the second-largest repository of motion pictures and broadcast programming in the United States, after the Library of Congress, and the world's largest university-held collection. We are committed to the collection, restoration and exhibition of moving images.
UCLA Film & Television Archive LGBTQ Resources
UCLA Preserved Silent Animation
Warner Brothers Studio
Who's Who of Victorian Cinema
Women Film Pioneers Project

Librarian

Larry Schwartz's picture
Larry Schwartz
Contact:
Livingston Lord Library, Room 116
218-477-2353
Website