Finding Articles - ECON 492: Economics Seminar - Hansen - LibGuides at Minnesota State University Moorhead

Economic Specific Databases

EconLit - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in economics. Access is limited to 4 simultaneous users.
Note: 4 simultaneous users
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Journal articles in science, engineering, social sciences, and humanities.

Economics Subject Area of ScienceDirect
Covers the areas of Economics, Econometrics and Finance in ScienceDirect

Business Source Premier - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Articles, market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news.
Regional Business News - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Included in this database are Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.

Economics in Project Muse

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Industry and geographic profiles for use in business research.
Newspapers - U.S. Newsstream (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
News in all formats from around the US.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
NOTE: To set up your MSUM-provided account, use the email format faculty/staff: starid@minnstate.edu, students: starid@go.minnstate.edu for setup. For more setup information, visit: https://libguides.mnstate.edu/tools-resources/nytimes

Economics in Springer Link

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Sociology research resource with gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racism, religion, and social work content.

AgEcon Search
Collects, indexes, and electronically distributes full text copies of scholarly research in the broadly defined field of agricultural and applied economics including sub disciplines such as agribusiness, food security and supply, energy and natural resource economics, environmental economics, policy issues, international trade, and economic development. Content includes conference presentations, working papers, journal articles, government documents, and theses and dissertations.

Government Documents and Statistics

Census.gov
Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys about 140,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 410,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.
County Business Patterns
County Business Patterns is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. The series is useful for studying the economic activity of small areas; analyzing economic changes over time; and as a benchmark for statistical series, surveys, and databases between economic censuses. Businesses use the data for analyzing market potential, measuring the effectiveness of sales and advertising programs, setting sales quotas, and developing budgets.
Economic Census Data
Economic Report of the President
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.
FRED
The Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is responsible for advising the Bank president on matters of economic policy. The Division monitors the economic and financial literature and produces research in the areas of money and banking, macroeconomics, and international and regional economics.
SOCDS (State of the Cities Data System)
The SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
The World Bank
free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
UN Data
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system
data.gov
Billed as a one-stop-shop for everything and anything that is publicly available, it has nearly 140,000 datasets in areas as varied as agriculture, climate, education, oceans, and science & research. This plethora of datasets is accompanied by filters, which allow you to refine the dataset options and make it easier to navigate, and include filtering options by topic, dataset type, tags, format, organizations, and publisher.

Journals owned by MSUM

A to Z E-Journal Directory This link opens in a new window
This directory will guide you by Title, ISSN, or category to the library's collection of online journals.

Print journals and magazines
If you did not find the journal you needed in the A-to-Z electronic journal directory, search here for issues of our paper journals.
Inter-library loan
Submit requests for the library to track down items that it doesn't own locally.

UlrichsWeb This link opens in a new window
Publication information on journals, magazines, and newspapers.

ECON 492: Economics Seminar - Hansen: Finding Articles

Economic Specific Databases

Government Documents and Statistics

Journals owned by MSUM